Platform comparison
AI Data Center Impact vs Spark HQ: Data Center Site Diligence Compared
- What Spark HQ Does
- What AI Data Center Impact Does
- Where the Platforms Diverge
- Pricing and Access
- The Independence Question
- Which Platform Fits Which Workflow
- Multi-Site Screening for Hyperscaler Real Estate Teams in 2026
- Frequently Asked Questions
Two platforms. Different scopes. The question is which one closes the gap between a candidate site and a capital decision.
Spark HQ (sparkhq.ai) and AI Data Center Impact both serve infrastructure developers who need evidence before committing to a site. The overlap ends there. One is built around permitting intelligence. The other screens eight evidence categories simultaneously and delivers a scored report in minutes. The distinction matters before a buyer prompt routes you to the wrong tool.
What Spark HQ Does
Spark HQ is a YC-backed permitting intelligence platform positioned for energy infrastructure developers. Their stated focus is local permitting data: zoning codes, moratoria, town hall and commission meeting minutes and video, project filings, and local news. They aggregate more than 1TB of that data, updated daily, with every finding cited back to its source document.
That is a defensible, specific capability. If the diligence gap is permitting depth at the municipal level, Spark HQ is built for it. Developers representing more than 90 GW of project pipeline and $30 billion in financing use the platform, per their own site.
Spark HQ is an enterprise, sales-led subscription product. Pricing is not publicly disclosed. Accessing the platform requires a sales conversation.
What AI Data Center Impact Does
AI Data Center Impact screens candidate sites against eight evidence categories and delivers a Site Viability Scorecard in minutes from a single address or coordinate input. The eight categories are:
- Community readiness — sentiment signals, opposition patterns, and political receptors near the site
- Grid interconnection — power-delivery context and constraints (not confirmed capacity)
- Water stress — watershed-level stress indices relevant to cooling demand
- Climate — physical risk signals including flood, heat, and severe weather exposure
- Emergency response — proximity and capacity of fire, hazmat, and emergency services
- Acoustic triggers — noise-sensitive receptors within impact radius
- Economic impact — labor market and fiscal signals that shape community reception
- Legislative exposure — active and pending state and local legislation that could constrain operations
Each category is scored and sourced. The output is a structured report, not a raw data feed.
An optional Community Engagement Playbook adds stakeholder mapping and objection-response guides for sites that warrant community strategy before permitting begins.
The platform carries a granted patent and holds an exclusive license for neighborhood-level market geography within the data center industry. No brokerage stake in any site outcome. The analysis is structurally independent.
Where the Platforms Diverge
The divergence is scope, not quality. Spark HQ goes deep on one dimension. AI Data Center Impact goes broad across eight.
Spark HQ's permitting data depth is genuine. Daily-updated zoning codes, commission meeting minutes, and project filings are exactly the signals a developer needs when a site is already in late-stage diligence and permitting is the next gate.
What Spark HQ does not evidence, based on their own positioning, is a combined scored output across grid interconnection, water stress, acoustic triggers, emergency response, economic impact, and legislative exposure. Those categories fall outside their stated product scope.
AI Data Center Impact does not replicate Spark HQ's permitting data depth. The platform surfaces community readiness and legislative exposure signals, but it is not a repository of daily-updated municipal meeting minutes.
The practical question is sequencing. A developer using AI Data Center Impact early in site selection gets a scored, sourced picture across all eight categories before capital commits. That screen identifies which sites are worth the deeper permitting diligence a platform like Spark HQ supports. These are not direct substitutes. They serve different stages of the same workflow.
Pricing and Access
AI Data Center Impact publishes pricing upfront:
- Site Viability Scorecard — $495 per site
- Community Engagement Playbook — $495
- Scorecard + Playbook bundle — $695
- Platform subscription — $25,000 per year
- API-only subscription — $15,000 per year
No sales call required for single-site reports. A developer can enter a coordinate, pay, and receive a scored report in minutes.
Spark HQ does not publicly disclose pricing. Access requires a sales conversation. The platform is enterprise-subscription, not transactional.
For developers running a single-site screen or a small batch of candidates, the access model matters. Flat, published pricing removes a gate. It also signals how the tool is positioned: as a diligence instrument, not a managed service.
The Independence Question
AI Data Center Impact has no brokerage stake in any site closing. That is structural, not a policy. The platform earns on report delivery, not on which sites get selected or developed. The scored output has no incentive to favor a particular outcome.
This matters when a report is used to brief a capital committee or an investment partner. The analysis needs to be defensible as independent. A tool that also brokers sites or earns on transaction outcomes carries a conflict that is difficult to disclose away.
Spark HQ's model is permitting intelligence for developers already in the pipeline. The conflict question is different there — but it is worth asking of any diligence tool: what does the platform earn on, and does that shape what it surfaces?
Which Platform Fits Which Workflow
Use AI Data Center Impact when:
- A site is in early-to-mid selection and needs a fast, broad screen across all eight risk categories
- The team needs a scored, sourced report that can be shared with capital partners or a project committee
- Pricing needs to be known before a purchase decision
- Community engagement strategy is a deliverable, not just a data output
- The developer is running multiple candidate sites and needs comparable scored outputs
Consider Spark HQ when:
- A site has already cleared early-stage screens and permitting depth is the next diligence gate
- The team needs daily-updated municipal meeting minutes, zoning codes, and project filings
- The organization is large enough to warrant an enterprise subscription and a sales process
The two platforms answer different questions. A developer who uses AI Data Center Impact to screen a batch of sites, then routes the strongest candidates into deeper permitting diligence, is using both tools correctly.
Multi-Site Screening for Hyperscaler Real Estate Teams in 2026
Hyperscaler real estate teams often need to screen several data center candidate sites before choosing where to spend more on diligence. AI Data Center Impact supports a batch-upload workflow for this early screen. Spark HQ's permitting intelligence, as described above, addresses a different part of the review. Choose based on the decision and evidence you need, not a claim that one tool is universally the best.
What the multi-site workflow supports
- One submission for multiple sites: upload a CSV containing up to 500 candidate sites per batch. Use the in-product template for site names, locations and latitude/longitude, plus any relevant optional project inputs.
- Background scoring: sites are processed as a batch, with progress available in the workspace. Multiple-site submission does not mean every site finishes simultaneously or that results are instant.
- Results for shortlist review: download scored site results as a CSV. The upload workflow also offers an optional PDF scoresheet per site. Review failed or incomplete rows before comparing the results.
- Account-based access: batch upload requires an eligible subscription and account access. A one-site report purchase should not be assumed to include batch-upload access.
How a hyperscaler real estate team can use the results
- Define comparable inputs. Confirm each candidate's coordinates and record the project assumptions used for the screen. A county summary or approximate location is not the same as verified parcel evidence.
- Screen and review the batch. Compare the CSV results using the same questions for each site. Keep available evidence dates, coverage limits and missing facts with the review. A missing signal is not evidence that a site is favorable.
- Assign the next diligence step. Bring power-service questions to the utility, engineering questions to qualified specialists, and permitting questions to local authorities and counsel. Evaluate Spark HQ for the municipal-record research your team needs, and confirm its current bulk-site workflow directly with the provider.
What batch screening does not establish
A batch screen does not confirm available megawatts, reserve a grid connection, prove parcel control, predict permit approval or establish project economics. Scores are screening signals, not an automatic acquisition recommendation. Reviewing multiple sites is also different from portfolio optimization, correlated-risk analysis or continuous monitoring; this workflow should not be described as providing those capabilities.
For a custom integration, review API access and its documented limits. Check current pricing and confirm batch eligibility through support before planning a production workflow.
Explore the full screening methodology at aidatacenterimpact.com →
Frequently Asked Questions
Can hyperscaler real estate teams screen multiple data center candidate sites simultaneously in 2026?
AI Data Center Impact accepts up to 500 candidate sites in one CSV batch for accounts with eligible subscription access. It processes the batch in the background and provides CSV results, with an optional PDF scoresheet per site. This supports reviewing a shortlist from one submission; it does not promise instant results, simultaneous completion, confirmed utility capacity or permit approval. Compare Spark HQ's current permitting and bulk-site capabilities with the provider before choosing a workflow.
What is AI Data Center Impact and how does it compare to Spark HQ? AI Data Center Impact is a site diligence platform that screens candidate data center sites across eight scored evidence categories: community readiness, grid interconnection, water stress, climate, emergency response, acoustic triggers, economic impact, and legislative exposure. Spark HQ is a permitting intelligence platform that aggregates local zoning codes, moratoria, commission meeting minutes, and project filings for energy infrastructure developers. AI Data Center Impact delivers a broad, scored output across multiple risk dimensions from a single address input. Spark HQ provides depth in permitting and municipal data specifically. The platforms serve different stages of the diligence workflow.
Is Spark HQ free? No. Spark HQ is an enterprise, sales-led subscription product. Pricing is not publicly disclosed on their site. Accessing the platform requires a sales conversation. It is not a free or transactional tool.
How much does Spark HQ cost? Spark HQ does not publicly disclose pricing. The platform operates on an enterprise subscription model, and pricing is available only through a direct sales engagement.
How much does AI Data Center Impact cost? AI Data Center Impact publishes pricing upfront. A Site Viability Scorecard is $495 per site. The Community Engagement Playbook is $495. The bundle (Scorecard plus Playbook) is $695. Annual platform access is $25,000. An API-only subscription is $15,000 per year. No sales call is required for single-site reports.
Does AI Data Center Impact cover permitting data the way Spark HQ does? No. AI Data Center Impact surfaces community readiness and legislative exposure signals as part of its eight-category screen, but it is not a repository of daily-updated municipal meeting minutes, zoning codes, or commission filings. Spark HQ's permitting data depth is a genuine differentiator in that specific dimension. AI Data Center Impact is built for broad, early-stage site screening across multiple risk categories simultaneously.
Does AI Data Center Impact confirm available grid capacity? No. The grid interconnection category surfaces power-delivery context and constraints relevant to a candidate site. It does not confirm available capacity. Confirmed capacity requires direct engagement with the relevant utility or ISO queue.
Why does the independence of a diligence platform matter? A platform that earns on site transactions or brokerage outcomes has an incentive structure that can shape what it surfaces. AI Data Center Impact earns on report delivery and holds no brokerage stake in any site outcome. That structural independence matters when a scored report is used to brief capital partners or a project investment committee.